How to Delete a Twitter Account Permanently – Twitter is the social media with the most users in the world. Total Twitter users reach up to 1 billion users. This social media contains various trending info and someone’s tweets and is then published in their tweet column.
Not infrequently also when Twitter often occurs various acts of spreading hoaxes, fraud, and hacking accounts. It also makes some users start thinking about eliminating all information, even permanently deleting accounts.
Before deleting your Twitter account
Before you are about to delete an account, make sure the reason is for something right and have taken the necessary steps. We’ll go into more detail below, but here are a few quick questions to answer before you turn it off:
- Do you want to change your username? If so, you don’t need to delete the account and create a new one. Twitter allows you to change your username (requires that the name is not already in use). So you will not lose your followers.
- Are you planning to create a new Twitter account with the same username or email address associated with your current account? If so, you should do this before deactivating your account.
- Do you want to save some information on your Twitter account? In this case, you must request the archived data before proceeding with the deactivation process.
- Do you want to delete many Tweets that you have created but are lazy to delete them one by one? Instead of deleting your account and starting over, you can use an app like TweetDelete to delete your Tweets altogether.
How to permanently delete a Twitter account
If you are a Twitter user who intends to delete your Twitter account, follow these steps permanently:
- Open the Twitter app on your phone. On the main page, click the three-line icon in the upper-left corner to open the settings menu. Select the ‘Settings and Privacy’ option at the bottom, then click ‘Account.’
- Look down until you find the ‘Deactivate Account’ option. When clicked, you will be prompted to enter your password before the account is permanently deleted.
- After filling in the password field, you can immediately click the ‘Deactivate’ button at the bottom. Once clicked, a pop-up will appear asking you to complete deactivating your account.
- There, you can immediately press the ‘Yes, Deactivate’ button. Automatically, your account will be permanently deleted by Twitter.
What happens after I deactivate my account?
After confirming the deactivation of your Twitter account, your profile and other information will no longer be accessible. However, it can take 30 days for Twitter to begin the process of deleting the account. Full account deletion can even take up to an additional week.
You can reactivate your account at any time within 30 days. Just sign in and confirm reactivation. This feature is great for those of you who accidentally deactivated your account or if you changed your mind a few days after closing your Twitter account.
Thank you for visiting AllinGadget. We always try to provide the latest and best information for you. I hope you get the information you want. If you have criticism and feedback, don’t hesitate to contact us via email at email@example.com. Have a nice day.